What Nemo, Churchill, FDR and Beyonce the Giant Rooster Taught Me about Fighting Depression

nemo 2

“Just keep swimming.  Just keep swimming.  Just keep swimming.  Swimming.  Swimming.  Swimming.  Swimming.” is a mantra that I often repeat to myself when I am struggling.  (Well, actually I sing it to myself.   And thankfully for the rest of you I do so in my head as my singing aloud could be mistaken for a wounded animal dying. You’re welcome).

Sometimes all we can do is just keep going.  Or as Winston Churchill so eloquently stated, “If you are going through hell, keep going.”

And as FDR advised: When you come to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.

So when I read Jenny Lawson’s most resent brilliant blog post (and she has many) There’s A Moment it resonated so much that I encourage any of you who are having a hard time to take a minute and read it.  It is a great reminder that that things will get better.  Jenny beautifully writes:

There’s a moment when you feel aware of the absence of pain, and that simple moment is such a wonder that it’s practically euphoric.  And you remember what it’s like to not hurt.  What it’s like to live.  And it is so beautiful there aren’t words for it.  It’s so incredibly easy to forget what it’s like to breathe when you’ve been holding your breath for so long.

Swim.  Keep moving through hell. Tie a knot and hang on.  It will get better.

Thanks for the reminder, Jenny.  And right back at ya!

P.S.  If you are not familiar with The Bloggess, read this post and you will either think she’s the most hysterical person in the world (which she is) or you won’t (which is okay too but let’s be real, she is).  But you will understand the rooster reference in the title!