6 Things Not To Say to a Gymnastics Coach

keep-calm-and-are-you-kidding-me

It may not be intentional, but there are certain comments that will make a gymnastics coach’s blood boil.

giphy twiddle thumbs 

So what do you do with all your free time until practice starts?

Practice is when you kids come into workout. My workday starts much earlier than that. I might have administrative duties or training responsibilities before practice, and I for sure have lesson planning—those conditioning plans don’t write themselves.

giphy thumbs up

It must be nice to play with kids all day.

I wouldn’t know. I teach kids gymnastics, how to set goals, cope with frustration, expect more of themselves and pursue excellence. Yes, we try to have fun as we build skills and character, but I would hardly call it play.

giphy really smart

Didn’t you go to college? Why are you “just” a gymnastics coach?

I can’t even. Many of us not only went to college but prestigious ones at that. In fact, I know more than a few gymnastics coaches and owners who have master degrees, Ph.Ds, law degrees and even one who is an MD. And our daily work is influencing the next generation to be resilient, goal-oriented people of character, that’s “just” what we do.

 giphy be quiet please

Well, you know what they say: “Those who can’t do, teach.”

I don’t know who “they” are but “they” are uninformed and kind of mean.

giphy real job

I wish I could go to work in sweatpants.

Yeah, sometimes I wish I could go to work in an office where I could go pee when I wanted to and where I wasn’t responsible for the safety and wellbeing of children. Except not really.

giphy no strings

I know how much tuition we pay—you guys must make a fortune!

(Insert hysterical laughing here). Yeah, nobody goes into teaching of any form for the money. Tuition is expensive, we understand. But so are rent, insurance and equipment. Owners and coaches do this because we believe in the positive impact gymnastics can have on children’s development, not because we expect to grow rich, well at least not in money!